The 27-65 Program is a mental health services program outlined in Colorado law (C.R.S. 27-65 et seq.) which regulates the involuntary care and treatment of individuals with mental health disorders. These services include: - 72-hour holds - Involuntary Transportation - Certifications - Court-Ordered Evaluations - Involuntary Medications The State of Colorado requires all facilities that perform 27-65 procedures submit data to the Colorado Behavioral Health Administration to ensure client safety and maintain standards of care. This page serves as a resource to support providers in their reporting for this program.
Feedback form for the Mental Health Advisory Board
- Statutes and rules
Learn about the Laws, Rules and Guidance on Mental Health Care and Treatment in Colorado.
House Bill 22-1256 Implementation Video
- Training resources
Data Submission Training Resources
TA Contact Form
- Reporting template
27-65 Reporting Templates
- Designation process
What does "designation" mean?
A designated facility is a facility approved by BHA pursuant to the provisions of the Care and Treatment of Persons with Mental Health Disorders. BHA is charged with ensuring that the procedures set forth in both statute and regulation are carried out in a manner that is in accordance with the law, and that all persons treated under this law in relation to a designation are afforded the rights given them by law. If those rights are restricted, all laws and procedures are followed in order to uphold the civil rights of those individuals.
As part of the designation, facilities are able to provide specific services only afforded to individuals within designated facilities, these include:
- Short-Term Certification: involuntary care and treatment beyond the 72-hour treatment and evaluation hold.
- Long-Term Care and Treatment: involuntary care and treatment beyond the 72-hour treatment and evaluation hold, short-term certification, and extended short-term certification.
- Psychiatric Medications: Involuntary psychiatric medications include medications administered for psychiatric emergency conditions and non- emergency conditions. Please see 2 CCR 502-1, Section 21.280.32.
- Emergency Conditions (§§ 27-65-105, 106, 107, 108,109, C.R.S.)- when someone is in imminent danger of harming him or herself or someone else and refuses acceptance of a psychiatric medication. This is only allowed under involuntary services. Please see 2 CCR 502-1, Section 21.280.34.
- Non-Emergency Involuntary Medications (§§ 27-65-105, 106, 107, 108, 109, C.R.S.) when and individual who is detained under the involuntary statutes would benefit from the administration of a psychiatric medication but the individual does not consent, the facility petitions the court to obtain.
- Seclusion and Restraint: Individuals being detained under §§ 27-65-105 through 109, C.R.S. may be secluded or restrained over their objection under the conditions covered in 2 CCR 502-1, Section 21.280.4, otherwise there must be a signed consent for such an intervention as outlined in behavioral health rules and regulations.
- Therapy or Treatment Using Special Procedures: Therapies using stimuli such as electroconvulsive therapy (ECT) require special procedures for consent and shall be governed by 2 CCR 502-1, Section 21.280.5. These therapies can only be administered to individuals 16 years of age and older. If the individual undergoing treatment using special procedures is a child age 16 to 18 years old, the clinical record shall reflect informed consent by both the child and the legal guardian(s).
What is the application/renewal process?
- Facilities applying for designation must submit an application through LADDERS, the State's online substance use disorder licensing and mental health designation application system and service directory.
- If approved, a designation is effective for up to a two-year period.
- An annual on-site review shall take place.
- A facility must re-apply for designation every two years.
What are reporting requirements?
Designated facilities must file an annual report with BHA pursuant to Rule Volume 2 CCR 502-1, Section 21.280.23.
- Certification Termination Reporting
Effective August 2022, facilities designated for involuntary care and treatment of individuals are required to notify the BHA whenever an individual is terminated from a short-term or long-term certification per 27-65-109 and 27-65-110, C.R.S.
Please submit one (1) form for each individual whose certification has been terminated. This form submission is secure and meets HIPAA confidentiality requirements.
- To view and download an individual form, scroll through the list below. For all forms, view the complete M-forms folder.
Click here to view the Informational Memo on M Forms Revisions and Timeline for Implementation.